So You Want to be a Garment/Product Decorator – Part 2

Play

Due to a last-minute cancellation, we get to close out the show from August 7th. First, we get an opportunity to talk to Show Sales Director James ”Ruggs” Kochevar from the former NBM Shows, now Graphics Pro Expos about 2020, their Breakaway Sessions, and plans for 2021. Then Terry and Aaron are going to talk about starting a product decorating business. And all the Regulators will be pitching in with their insights as well. The conversation will include: 1) What do we wish we had known before starting a business? 2) What pitfalls can we help you avoid? And 3) we’ll wrap up with business advice from the guys and the Regulators as well!

Sponsored by: Impressions Expo. Use the Promo Code RegularGuysIE for a FREE Expo Pass!

Impressions ExpoOur regular listeners know this, but 2 Regular Guys are all about garment decorating, a bit of fun, and no rants or lectures or selling. We are not doing this for our employers, but rather for our industry. Since February 2013, The 2 Regular Guys have been the first and the most listened to garment decorating industry podcast on this planet! We are humbled by all of you tuning in each week. We work hard to bring you information that will make your business better, and our industry better. Take a look at our incredible weekly guest list and you’ll understand where this industry goes for news, interviews and the heartbeat of garment decorating. Thanks for listening!

News

  • Decorators Community Virtual Cocktail Party tonight! 5:00 PM PST, 6:00 PM MST 7:00 PM CST and 8:00 PM EST www.2regularguys.com/party/ Bring your favorite mask!

  • Celebrating Gillian Allen! – A warm up Zoom party. Congratulate friend of the show and one of the rockstars who joined Kristine Shreve in the Women in Garment Decorating Podcast, Gillian Allen on her Ceremony to be an American Citizen. 2:00 PM PST, 3:00 PM MST 4:00 PM CST and 5:00 PM EST

  • M&R Printing Equipment Names Trimingham to Director of Marketing – M&R Printing Equipment announces the promotion of Thomas Trimingham to director of marketing. Trimingham has over 29 years of screen printing experience and has been with M&R for three years. His background includes design, separation, fine art, consulting, marketing, and writing for the industry. Before his time at M&R, he held various positions as an illustrator, art director, high-end separator, marketing manager, and head of R&D.

  • CorelTrainer.com are actually going out into the big scary world. They will be attending NPS roadshows in Wisconsin. The state of Wisconsin is allowing some small events. The NPS & Promo Apparel Print Expos will be held at the Tundra Lodge in Green Bay on Tuesday the 25th & Wednesday the 26th at the Milwaukee Crowne Plaza. 

    Dad Joke: What happened when Times New Roman, Helvetica and Comic Sans walked into a bar?

    The bartender yelled, “Get out! We don’t serve your type here!!”

    Shout out to Wayne Bruzzese with Start Bullets Visual Marketing in Alexandria, Indiana who says he likes our Dad Jokes!

So You Want to be a Garment Decorator

Terry: How much does it cost to get started?

  • How much have you got?
  • Being undercapitalized can be deadly, and easy to do in our industry because of the low threshold for entry
  • Guesstimate your revenue, and guess low!!

Aaron: Here’s the last question. Regulators, keep it up! What one piece of advice would you give a new decorator?

  • Have fun, enjoy your business, enjoy the craft, and it will be a joy to go to work in the morning
  • Your friends either to your face or behind your back say you’re crazy to start a business now (or anytime). You’re not crazy, and they’re just jealous that you had the courage to do it!!
  • Trust your instincts about employees, customers, new ideas, etc.

Facebook Live Video

Other Events

Trade Shows


Please support our sponsors!

Impressions Expo – Use the Promo Code RegularGuysIE for a FREE Expo Pass!
Our Success Group – Business Training, Consulting and Support


This show is for the listeners so please make sure to ask us some questions or give us some topics you would like us to discuss. Also, if you have any event or upcoming items related to our industry that you would like us to bring up on the show, please contact us via our Facebook Page. Also, make sure to interact/follow us on Twitter and Instagram. You can also find information on our YouTube Page.